20% Music

    20% Time

For 20% of my time I get to work on whatever I please, and I’ve decided to work on making music. I’m going to learn how certain chord structures work so I can arrange some good and unique music. I’m going to use my synth to make the music I write!

The Music

I’m trying to make Jazz music. It’s going to be a bit hard learning the jazz circle of fifths and being able to write the chord structures to accompany them. But maybe I can try to use all the knowledge I have right now to write music and then build upon that. I’m going to use my apple computer to download programs like Finale and garage band and use them together to write out my first score.

What I want to do

I also want to learn how to play music on the synth as well. I’m currently in the middle of learning The Concerto to End All Concertos by Stan Kenton, a well known jazz artist from the 1940’s and 1950’s, he was up there with other musicians like Duke Ellington, Glenn Miller, and Frank Sinatra. And honestly his music is very challenging to learn. The technique required to play on a synth is very complicated and teaching myself has been pretty difficult at times. But nonetheless I have been learning more and more every time I sit down to my computer and practice new parts to the song I’m trying to learn.

 

 

One thought on “20% Music

  1. Andrew, This post is a good reflection of the pursuit of your passion. It includes some great steps to your making progress on your musical goal. Please revise to include headings and check your sentence structure. As a rule, you should not start your sentences with “and” or “but.” Also, this blog is a little short of the 300-word minimum and should be revised to dig deeper and include more information. Good start, please revise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *